RESERVE BANK OF INDIA (NOTE ISSUE) REGULATIONS, 1935 (As amended up to October 2016)

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 58 of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 (II of 1934), the Central Board of Directors of the Reserve Bank of India with the previous sanction of the Central Government are pleased to make the following regulations for the proper and efficient management of the business relating to the issue of the currency notes of the Government of India and bank notes in pursuance of sub-section (1) of Section 22 of the said Act.

Short Title:

1. These regulations may be called "The Reserve Bank of India (Note Issue) Regulations, 1935". They shall come into force on April 1, 1935.

Definitions:

- 2. In these regulations unless there is anything repugnant in the subject or context:
- (a) "Act" means the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934;
- (b) "Bank" means the Reserve Bank of India constituted by the Act;
- (c) "Issue Department" means the Issue Department of the Bank mentioned in Subsection (1) if Section 23 of the Act; and
- (d) "Note" means a note of the Bank including currency note of the Government of India issued either by the Central Government or by the Bank.
- 3. There shall be four offices of the Issue Department located at Mumbai (Fort), Chennai, Kolkata, and New Delhi and fifteen branches thereof at Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Belapur (Navi Mumbai), Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Lucknow, Nagpur, Patna and Thiruvananthapuram.

4.

Sr.	Office of Issue	Jurisdiction
No		
1	Ahmedabad	The State of Gujarat and the Union Territories of
		Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

2	Bangalore	The State of Karnataka
3	Belapur (Navi	The districts of Ahmednagar, Kolhapur, Nashik,
	Mumbai)	Palghar, Pune, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sangli, Satara,
		Sindhudurg, Solapur and Thane in the State of
		Maharashtra and the State of Goa
4	Bhopal	The State of Madhya Pradesh
5	Bhubaneshwar	The State of Odisha
6	Chandigarh	The States of Haryana, Himachal Pradesh and
		Punjab and the Union Territory of Chandigarh
7	Chennai	The State of Tamil Nadu and the Union Territory of
		Puducherry
8	Guwahati	The States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura
9	Hyderabad	The States of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana
10	Jaipur	The State of Rajasthan
11	Jammu	The State of Jammu and Kashmir
12	Kanpur	The districts of Agra, Aligarh, Allahabad, Auraiya,
	'	Baghpat, Banda, Bulandshahr, Chitrakoot, Etah,
		Etawah, Farrukhabad, Fatehpur, Firozabad,
		Gautam Buddh Nagpur Ghaziabad, Hamirpur,
		Hathras, Jalaun, Jhansi, Kannauj, Kanpur Nagar,
		Kanpur Dehat, Kaushambi, Lalitpur, Mahoba,
		Mainpuri, Mathura, Meerut, Mirzapur,
		Muzaffarnagar, Sonbhadra, Unnao, Kasganj,
		Shamli and Hapur in the State of Uttar Pradesh and
		the State of Uttarakhand
13	Kolkata	The States of Sikkim and West Bengal and the
		Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands
14	Mumbai (Fort)	Greater Mumbai that is Mumbai Island and the
		Mumbai Suburban District (roughly south of a line
		connecting Dahisar and Mulund on the Western and
		Central Railways, respectively)

15	Nagpur	The Districts of Marathwada and Vidarbha in the
		State of Maharashtra and the State of Chhatisgarh
16	New Delhi	The National Capital Territory of Delhi
17	Patna	The States of Bihar and Jharkhand
18	Thiruvananthap	The State of Kerala and the Union Territory of
	uram	Lakshadweep
19	Lucknow	The districts of Ambedkar Nagar, Amethi, Amroha,
		Azamgarh, Bahraich, Ballia, Balrampur, Barabanki,
		Bareilly, Basti, Bijnor, Budaun, Chandauli, Deoria,
		Faizabad, Ghazipur, Gonda, Gorakhpur, Hardoi,
		Jaunpur, Lakhimpur Kheri, Kushinagar, Lucknow,
		Maharajganj, Mau, Moradabad, Pilibhit, Pratapgarh,
		Rae Bareli, Rampur, Saharanpur, Sant Kabirnagar,
		Sant Ravidas Nagar, Shahjahanpur, Shravasti,
		Siddharthnagar, Sitapur, Sultanpur, Varanasi and
		Sambhal in the State of Uttar Pradesh

OFFICER-IN-CHARGE OF OFFICE OF ISSUE:

5. For each Office of Issue, there shall be an Officer in charge to be called the General Manager or Deputy General Manager.

SIGNATURE TO NOTE:

- 6. The name of an Officer of the Bank authorised in this behalf by the Central Board of Directors of the Bank shall be subscribed to every Bank Note, and may be impressed thereon by machinery and when so impressed, shall be deemed to be a valid signature.
- 7. The geographical jurisdiction of each Office of Issue of the Reserve Bank of India shall be as decided by the Central Board of Directors through Board Resolutions, from time to time, for optimisation of operational efficiency.