November 22, 2007

## Chairmen All Regional Rural Banks

Dear Sir,

## Legal Guardianship Certificate issued under the National Trust Act, 1999 empowering the disabled persons with autism, cerebral palsy, mental retardation and multiple disabilities

We have been advised by the National Trust for the Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities (the Trust) that a question has been raised as to whether the banks and the banking sector can accept the guardianship certificates in regard to persons with disabilities issued by the Local Level Committees set up under the National Trust for the Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities Act, 1999.

2. The Trust has mentioned that the above Act was specifically passed by the Parliament in order to provide for appointment of legal guardians for persons with disability that is covered under the said Act. The above Act provides for appointment of legal guardians for persons with disability by the <u>Local Level Committees</u> set up under the Act. The Trust has opined that a legal guardian so appointed can <u>open and operate the bank account</u> as long as he remains the legal guardian. It may also be noted that the provisions of Mental Health Act, 1987 also allows appointment of Guardian by District Courts.

3. Regional Rural Banks (RRBs) are therefore advised to rely upon the Guardianship Certificate issued either by the District Court under Mental Health Act or by the Local Level Committees under the above Act for the purposes of opening / operating bank accounts. A list of Local Level Committees received from the above Trust is enclosed.

4. RRBs may also ensure that their branches give proper guidance so that the parents / relatives of the disabled persons do not face any difficulty in this regard.

5. Please acknowledge receipt to our Regional Office concerned.

Yours faithfully

(C.S.Murthy) Chief General Manager in-Charge

## SUMMARISED LIST OF LOCAL LEVEL COMMITTEES FORMED TILL 26 FEBRUARY, 2007

At present LOCAL LEVEL COMMITTEES have been constituted in **499** districts out of the total of 591 districts in the country except J&K. State and UTS wise list are as follows: -

## STATES - 27

Sr. No.	States	Districts	Total LLCs formed
1.	ANDHRA PRADESH	EAST GODAVARI, KRISHNA, NIZAMABAD, NELLORE, SRIKAKULAM, CHITTOOR, KURNOOL, ADILABAD, WARANGAL, NALGONDA, KARIMNAGAR, PRAKASAM, RANGAREDDY, VISAKHAPATNAM, ANANTHAPUR, MEDAK, CUDDAPAH, KHAMMAM, GUNTUR, MAHABOOBNAGAR, VIZIANAGRAM, HYDERABAD, WEST GODAVARI	23
2.	ASSAM	KAMRUP, NAGAON, NALBARI, JORHAT, DARRANG, CACHAR, DHUBRI, KARIMGANJ, SONITPUR, SIVASAGAR, TINSUKIA, DIBRUGARH, GOALPARA, HAILAKANDI, NC HILLS, GOLAGHAT, LAKHIMPUR	17
3.	BIHAR	NAWADA, KATIHAR, BHABUA, SHEIKHPURA, MUNGER, KISHANGANJ, LAKHISARAI, NALANDA, MADHEPURA, ROHTAS, SHEOHAR, MAHDUBANI, SUPAUL, BEGUSARAI, JAMUI, SIWAN, PATNA, BHOJPUR, GOPALGANJ, VAISHALI, SAMASTIPUR, PURNEA, BHAGALPUR, KHAGARIA	24
4.	CHATTISGARH	KOREA, JANJAGIR-CHAPA, BASTAR, DANTEWADA, RAIPUR, MAHASUMUND, JASHPUR, RAIGARH, KORBA, SURGUJA, DURG, BILASPUR, JAGDALPUR, KAWARDHA, DHAMTARI, KANKER	16
5.	DELHI	SOUTH, SOUTH-WEST, NORTH-EAST, CENTRAL, NEW DELHI, NORTH, WEST, NORTH WEST, EAST	9
6.	GOA	PANAJI	1
7.	GUJARAT	VALSAD, MEHSANA, JAMNAGAR, SABARKANTHA, DAHOD, BHAVNAGAR, JUNAGADH, SURENDRANAGAR, SURAT, AMARELI, KHEDA, VADODARA, GANDHINAGAR, AHMEDABAD, RAJKOT, NAVSARI, BHARUCH, KUTCH, ANAND, THE DANGS, PORBANDAR, NARMADA, PANCHMAHAL	23
8.	HARYANA	PANIPAT, JIND, KARNAL, HISSAR, PANCHKULA, YAMUNANAGAR, AMBALA, FARIDABAD, SIRSA, KAITHAL, ROHTAK, KURUKSHETRA, GURGAON, BHIWANI	14

9.	HIMACHAL PRADESH	SOLAN, UNA, KINNAUR, KANGRA, CHAMBA, MANDI, HAMIRPUR, SHIMLA, LAHAUL & SPITI, BILASPUR, KULLU, SIRMOUR	12
10.	JHARKAND	DUMKA, PAKAUR, RANCHI, SERAI KELA, CHATRA, DHANBAD, BOKARO, EAST SINGHBUM, SAHEBGANJ, HAZARIBAGH, DEOGHAR, GUMLA, PALAMU, WEST SINGHBHUM, LOHARDARGA, KODARMA, JAMTARA, LATEHAR	18
11	KARNATAKA	BIJAPUR, BAGALKOTE, UTTAR KANNADA, CHICKMAGALUR, DAKSHINA KANNADA, BIDAR, KODAGU, HASSAN, BELLARY, CHITRADURGA, BANGALORE URBAN, BELGAUM, UDUPI, GADAG, RAICHUR, MANDYA, CHAMARAJANAGAR, MYSORE, DAVANGERE, TUMKUR, GULBARGA, KOPPAL, BANGALORE RURAL, DHARWAD, KOLAR, SHIMOGA	26
12.	KERALA	THRISSUR, PALAKKAD, THIRUVANANTAHPURAM, ERANAKULAM, MALLAPURAM, KOZHIKODE, KOLLAM, ALLAPUZHA, KASARGOD, KANNUR, KOTTAYAM, WAYANAD, PATHANAMTHITTA, IDUKKI	14
13.	MADHYA PRADESH	BARWANI, BETUL, DAMOH, DHAR, DEWAS, INDORE, GWALIOR, KATNI, KHARGAON, KHANDWA, MANDSAUR, NARSINGHPUR, NIMACH, RAJGARH, RATLAM, SAGAR, SIWANI, SIDHI, SHAHDOL, SHAJAPUR, SHIVPURI, SHYOPUR, SEHORE, TIKAMGARH, UJJAIN, UMARIA, VIDISHA, REWA, CHATTARPUR, BHOPAL, GUNA, JABALPUR, SATNA, HARDA, PANNA, DINDORI, CHINNDWARA, JHABUA, RAISEN, MORENA, MANDLA, BHIND, HOSHANGABAD, BALAGHAT, BURHANPUR, ANUPPUR, DATIA, ASHOKNAGAR	48
14.	MAHARASHTRA	KOLHAPUR, NASIK, LATUR, CHANDRAPUR, AKOLA, BEED, BHANDARA, NANDURBAR, VARDHA, GADCHIROLI, THANE, AMRAVATI, OSMANABAD, SATARA, BULDHANA, DHULE, SOLAPUR, RATNAGIRI, GONDIYA, NANDED, NAGPUR, AURANGABAD, YAVATMAL, RAIGAD, MUMBAI SUBURBAN, HINGOLI, PUNE, SINDHUDURG, AHMEDNAGAR, SANGLI, PARBHANI, MUMBAI, JALGAON, JALNA	34
15.	MANIPUR	IMPHAL EAST, IMPHAL WEST, THOUBAL, CHURACHANDPUR	4
16.	MEGHALAYA	WEST KHASI HILLS, EAST GARO HILLS, RI BHOI, JAINTIA HILLS, WEST GARO HILLS, EAST KHASI, SOUTH GARO	7

17.	MIZORAM	AIZAWL, LUNGLEI, SAIHA, MAMIT, CHAMPHAI, LAWNGTHLAI, JOLASIB, SERCHHIP	8
18.	NAGALAND	KOHIMA, MOKOKCHUNG, ZUHENBOTO, MON, DIMAPUR, WOKHA, PHEK, TUENSANG	8
19.	ORISSA	ANGUL, BALASORE, BHADRAK, BOLANGIR, BOUDH, CUTTACK, DEOGARH, DHENKANAL, JAGATSINGHPUR, JAJPUR, KANDHAMALA, KENDRAPARA, KEONJHAR, KHURDA, KORAPUT, MALKANGIRI, MAYURBHANJ, NAWARANGPUR, NAYAGARH, PURI, SAMBALPUR, SUNDARGARH, NUAPADA, JHARSUGUDA, KALAHANDI, RAYAGADA, SONEPUR, GAJAPATI, BARGARH, GANJAM	30
20.	PUNJAB	AMRITSAR, BHATINDA, FARIDKOT, HOSHIARPUR, LUDHIANA, MANSA, MOGA, PATIALA, RUPNAGAR, JALANDHAR, FATEHGARH SAHIB, SANGARUR, NAWANSHAHR, MUKATSAR, KAPURTHALA	15
21.	TAMIL NADU	THE NILGIRIS, PUDUKOTTAI, SALEM, COIMBATORE, VELLORE, TIRUCHIRAPALLI, RAMANATHPURAM, TIRUVANAMALLAI, ERODE, VIRUDUNAGAR, PERAMBALUR, THANJAVUR, NAMAKKAL, KANYAKUMARI, TIRUVARUR, KANCHEEPURAM, DHARMAPURI, THOOTHUKUDI, THENI, CUDDALORE, SIVAGANGAI, DINDIGUL, KARUR, NAGAPATTINAM, CHENNAI, TIRUVALLUR, MADURAI, VILLUPURAM, TIRUNELVELI	29
22.	TRIPURA	NORTH TRIPURA, SOUTH TRIPURA, WEST TRIPURA, DHALAI	4
23.	RAJASTHAN	ALWAR, JALLORE, SIROHI, SIKAR, DHOLPUR, BANSWARA, RAJSAMAND, DUNGARPUR, JODHPUR, UDAIPUR, BHARATPUR, PALI, BHILWARA, TONK, KOTA, JAISALMER, JHUNJHUNU, CHURU, HANUMANGARH, KARAULI, BUNDI, SHRIGANGANAGAR, AJMER, BADMER, BIKANER, CHITTAURGARH, DAUSA, JAIPUR, BARAN, SAWAI MADHOPUR, NAGAUR, JHALAWAR	32
24.	SIKKIM	EAST, SOUTH, WEST, NORTH	4
25.	UTTAR PRADESH	JAMUNAPAR AND SHAHARI AREA OF ALLAHABAD DISTRICT, GANGAPAR AREA OF ALLAHABAD DISTRICT, BARIELLY, JALAUN, LUCKNOW, PILIBHIT, RAE BARIELLY, SAHARANPUR, SULTANPUR, FARRUKHABAD, UNNAO, MORADABAD, BASTI, JR PHULE NAGAR, FATEHPUR,	42

		KANPUR NAGAR, SITAPUR, HAMIRPUR, MEERUT, HARDOI, SHAHJAHANPUR, MAU, FAIZABAD, VARANASI, GHAZIABAD, GORAKHPUR, BAGPAT, DEORIA, AZAMGARH, MIRZAPUR, RAMPUR, BARA BANKI, BIJNOUR, CHITRAKOOT, GB NAGAR, KUSHINAGAR, GHAZIPUR, AGRA, MAINPURI, BUDAUN, CHANDAULI, FEROZABAD					
26.	UTTARANCHAL	ALMORA, NAINITAL, DEHRADUN, BAGESHWAR, HARIDWAR, CHAMAPWAT, CHAMOLI, TEHRI GARHWAL, UDHAM SINGH NAGAR, RUDRAPRAYAG, UTTARKASHI, PAURI GARHWAL, PITHORAGARH	13				
27.	WEST BENGAL	BANKURA, BIRBHUM, BURDWAN, COOCH BEHAR, DAKSHIN DINAJPUR, DARJEELING, HOOGHLY, HOWRAH, JALPAIGURI, MALDA, MIDNAPUR, MURSHIDABAD, NADIYA, 24 PRGS SOUTH, 24 PRGS NORTH, PURULIA, UTTAR DINAJPUR, KOLKATA CITY, EAST MIDNAPORE	19				
	UNION TERRITORIES						
1.	CHANDIGARH	CHANDIGARH	1				
2.	DADRA & NAGAR HAVELI	SILVASSA	1				
3.	DAMAN & DIU	DAMAN, DIU	2				
4.	PONDICHERRY	PONDICHERRY	1				