Now Income Tax payment at Designated Bank Branches

November 29, 1999

The income tax department has authorised designated branches of Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Central Bank of India, Dena Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, State Bank of India and United Bank of India to accept payment of income tax dues. Designated branches of these banks have made arrangements to receive advance income tax.

The Reserve Bank of India has advised income tax assessees to take advantage of these standing arrangements made for their convenience. The Reserve Bank has also advised income tax assessees in Mumbai city to deposit their income tax dues sufficiently in advance to avoid inconvenience of waiting in long queues at the Reserve Bank counters and the last minute rush.

Rupambara Padhi Manager

Press Release: 1998-99/716