Work relating to Urban Banks in Marathwada Region transfered from Mumbai to Nagpur

March 12, 1999

The Reserve Bank of India has decided as part of its decentralisation programme, and also with a view to improving its customer service, to transfer, with effect from March 12, 1999, the work relating to primary cooperative banks located in 7 districts of the Marathwada Region viz., Aurangabad, Beed, Jalna, Latur, Nanded, Parbhani and Osmanabad, from its Mumbai Office, to its Nagpur Office. Accordingly all matters relating to urban cooperative banks, both existing as well as proposed, situated in the Marathwada Region, will henceforth be handled by the Nagpur Regional Office of the Urban Banks Department, Reserve Bank of India, Raghvendra Rao Road, Post Box No.15, Nagpur 440 001. Existing primary cooperative banks situated in the Marathwada region will also have to submit their returns as on March 31, 1999, to the Officer-in-Charge, Urban Banks Department, Nagpur, at the above address.

Maureen Shankar Manager

Press Release: 1998-99/1164