

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION, Central Office, S.B.S.Marg, Mumbai-400001 फोन/Phone: 91 22 2266 0502 फैक्स/Fax: 91 22 22660358

Pay IT dues in advance at RBI or at authorised bank branches

The Reserve Bank of India has appealed to income tax assessees to remit their income tax dues sufficiently in advance of the due date. It has also stated that assessees can use alternate channels like select branches of agency banks or the facility of online payment of taxes offered by these banks. These will obviate the inconvenience involved in standing in long queues at the Reserve Bank offices.

It is observed that the rush for remitting Income -Tax dues through the Reserve Bank of India has been far too heavy towards the end of March every year and it becomes difficult for the Reserve Bank to cope with the pressure of issuing receipts although additional counters to the maximum extent possible are provided for the purpose.

Twenty-nine agency banks are authorised to accept payments of Income Tax dues. These are:

1.	Allahabad Bank	16.	Syndicate Bank
2.	Andhra Bank	17.	UCO Bank
3.	Bank of Baroda	18.	Union Bank of India
4.	Bank of India	19.	United Bank of India
5.	Bank of Maharashtra	20.	Vijaya Bank
6.	Canara Bank	21.	State Bank of India
7.	Central Bank of India	22.	State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
8.	Corporation Bank	23.	State Bank of Hyderabad
9.	Dena Bank	24.	State Bank of Travancore
10.	IDBI Bank	25.	State Bank of Mysore
11.	Indian Bank	26.	State Bank of Patiala
12.	Indian Overseas Bank	27.	HDFC Bank Ltd.
13.	Oriental Bank of Commerce	28.	Axis Bank Ltd.
14.	Punjab & Sindh Bank	29.	ICICI Bank Ltd.
15.	Punjab National Bank		