

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION, Central Office, S.B.S.Marg, Mumbai-400001

फोन/Phone: 91 22 2266 0502 फैक्स/Fax: 91 22 22660358

February 2, 2011

Shri Karuppasamy takes charge as New Executive Director at Reserve Bank of India

Shri S. Karuppasamy, assumed charge as Executive Director of the Reserve Bank of India today. As Executive Director, Shri Karuppasamy will look after Department of Expenditure and Budgetary Control, Department of Information Technology, Legal Department and Urban Banks Department.

Shri Karuppasamy was Regional Director of the Reserve Bank's Kolkata office prior to taking charge as Executive Director. Shri Karuppasamy has also headed two Central Office departments, namely, Department of Banking Supervision and Urban Banks Department.

Joining the Reserve Bank of India in 1975, Shri Karuppasamy has worked in various departments in different capacities. These include, Issue Department, Department of Economic Analysis and Policy, Banking Department, Agricultural Credit Department, Rural Planning and Credit Department, Department of Banking Operations and Development and Urban Banks Department. He has also worked in various regional offices of the Reserve Bank. He has been a Member Faculty in College of Agricultural Banking, Pune and has also been the Principal of the Reserve Bank's Staff Training College, Chennai.

Shri Karuppasamy has also been associated with working groups in certain areas, such as, High Power Committee on Urban Cooperative Banks, Rating Framework for Urban Cooperative Banks, Cross Border Supervision and Integrated System of Alert.

Shri Karuppasamy is a post graduate in Economics, is a Certified Associate of Indian Institute of Bankers, has a Post Graduate Diploma in Bank Management (NIBM) and is a Pragya.

As Regional Director, Shri Karuppasamy was an RBI Nominee Director on the Board of Indian Bank.

Shri Karuppasamy fills up the vacancy arising from Shri Anand Sinha's elevation to the post of Deputy Governor last week. Consequent to these changes, the portfolios of Deputy Governors and Executive Directors of the Reserve Bank are redistributed as under:

Deputy Governors

Smt. Shyamala Gopinath

:

2

- 1. Department of External Investment & Operations
- 2. Department of Non-Banking Supervision
- 3. Department of Government and Bank Accounts
- 4. Department of Payment and Settlement Systems
- 5. Foreign Exchange Department
- 6. Financial Stability Unit
- 7. Internal Debt Management Department
- 8. Secretary's Department
- 9. Coordination Work

Dr. K.C. Chakrabarty

- 1. Central Security Cell
 - 2. Customer Service Department
 - 3. Department of Administration and Personnel Management
 - 4. Department of Banking Supervision
 - 5. Department of Currency Management
 - 6. Human Resources Development Department

		 Rajbhasha Department Rural Planning and Credit Department
Dr. Subir Gokarn	:	 Department of Communication Financial Markets Department Department of Economic and Policy Research Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation Department of Statistics and Information Management Monetary Policy Department Right to Information (RIA)
Shri Anand Sinha	:	 Department of Banking Operations and Development Department of Information Technology Department of Expenditure and Budgetary Control Inspection Department Legal Department Premises Department Urban Banks Department
Executive Directors		
Shri V.K. Sharma	:	 Customer Service Department Department of Currency Management Financial Markets Department Rural Planning and Credit Department
Shri C. Krishnan	:	 Central Vigilance Cell Inspection Department Right to Information Act (RIA) (also First Appellate Authority)
Shri V.S. Das	:	 Department of Administration and Personnel Management Department of Communication Human Resources Development Department Rajbhasha Department Secretary's Department
Shri G. Gopalakrishna	:	 Central Security Cell Department of Banking Supervision Department of Non-Banking Supervision Premises Department
Shri H.R. Khan	:	 Department of External Investment & Operations Department of Government and Bank Accounts Foreign Exchange Department Internal Debt Management Department
Shri D.K. Mohanty	:	 Alternate Appellate Authority (under RIA) Department of Economic and Policy Research Department of Statistics and Information Management Monetary Policy Department
Shri S. Karuppasamy	:	 Department of Expenditure and Budgetary Control Department of Information Technology Legal Department Urban Banks Department