

संचार विभाग, केंद्रीय कार्यालय, एस.बी.एस.मार्ग, मुंबई-400001

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION, Central Office, S.B.S.Marg, Mumbai-400001 फोन/Phone: 91 22 2266 0502 फैक्स/Fax: 91 22 22660358

August 26, 2014

Pay IT dues in advance at RBI or at authorised bank branches

The Reserve Bank of India has appealed to income tax assessees to remit their income tax dues sufficiently in advance of the due date. It has also stated that assessees can use alternate channels like select branches of agency banks or the facility of online payment of taxes offered by these banks. These will obviate the inconvenience involved in standing in long queues at the Reserve Bank offices.

It is observed that the rush for remitting Income –Tax dues through the Reserve Bank of India has been far too heavy towards the end of September every year and it becomes difficult for the Reserve Bank to cope with the pressure of issuing receipts although additional counters to the maximum extent possible are provided for the purpose.

Twenty-nine agency banks are authorised to accept payments of Income Tax dues. These are:

- 1. Allahabad Bank
- 2. Andhra Bank
- 3. Bank of Baroda
- 4. Bank of India
- 5. Bank of Maharashtra
- 6. Canara Bank
- 7. Central Bank of India
- 8. Corporation Bank
- 9. Dena Bank
- 10. IDBI Bank
- 11. Indian Bank
- 12. Indian Overseas Bank
- 13. Oriental Bank of Commerce
- 14. Punjab & Sindh Bank
- 15. Punjab National Bank

- 16. Syndicate Bank
- 17. UCO Bank
- 18. Union Bank of India
- 19. United Bank of India
- 20. Vijaya Bank
- 21. State Bank of India
- 22. State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur
- 23. State Bank of Hyderabad
- 24. State Bank of Travancore
- 25. State Bank of Mysore
- 26. State Bank of Patiala
- 27. HDFC Bank Ltd.
- 28. Axis Bank Ltd.
- 29. ICICI Bank Ltd.

Ajit Prasad Assistant General Manager

Press Release : 2014-2015/409