## प्रेस प्रकाशनी PRESS RELEASE



## भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक

वेबसाइट : www.rbi.org.in/hindi Website : www.rbi.org.in इ-मेल email: <u>helpdoc@rbi.org.in</u>

संचार विभाग, केंद्रीय कार्यालय, एस.बी.एस.मार्ग, मुंबई-400001

**DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATION**, Central Office, S.B.S.Marg, Mumbai-400001 फोन/Phone: 91 22 2266 0502 फैक्स/Fax: 91 22 22660358

July 4, 2011

## Shri Harun Rashid Khan assumes charge as RBI Deputy Governor



Shri Harun Rashid Khan took over today as Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of India. As Deputy Governor he has been appointed for a period of three years. He will look after Central Security Cell, Department of External Investments and Operations, Department of Government and Bank Accounts, Department of Payment and Settlement Systems, Foreign Exchange Department, Internal Debt Management Department and Inspection Department.

Prior to being appointed as Deputy Governor Shri Khan was Executive Director of Reserve Bank of India since October 2007 and looked after the Department of External Investments and Operations, Foreign Exchange Department, Internal Debt Management Department and Department of Government and Bank Accounts. He was earlier Regional Director of the Bank's New Delhi Office and prior to that he was Principal of the College of Agricultural Banking in Pune. Shri Khan's central banking career spanned over 32 years during which he has discharged diverse responsibilities in RBI in areas of rural credit, currency management, banking supervision & regulation, debt management, reserve management, exchange control, personnel administration and internal accounts of the Bank. Shri Khan has been associated with number of internal and external committees, such as, Committee on Technology Exports, Committee on Ways and Means Advances to the State Governments (as Member Secretary), Working Group on Instruments of Sterilisation (as Convener), International Task Force on Central Counterparties (CCPs), Working Group on Model Fiscal Responsibility and Budget Management Bill for States (as Convener).

He was closely involved with the Internal Group of RBI on Rural Credit and Microfinance (popularly known as the Khan Committee) as the chairman. Based on the recommendations of the Khan Committee, the Reserve Bank issued guidelines to expand the banking outreach through Business Facilitators and Business Correspondents with ICT support for spearheading financial inclusion in the country.

As Executive Director, Shri Khan represented the Reserve Bank on the Working Group on the G-20 on "Reinforcing International Cooperation & Market Integrity" and the Committee on Global Financial Systems (CGFS) of the Bank for International Settlement (BIS).

Shri Khan was also the Nominee Director of RBI on the boards of Dena Bank, Bank of Maharashtra, Punjab and Sind Bank, Bank of Rajasthan and the Orissa State Finance Corporation (OSFC).

Shri Khan joined Reserve Bank in 1978 after his Masters in Political Science from Utkal University, Bhubaneswar and Masters in Philosophy from the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. Shri Khan is a Certified Associate of the Indian Institute of Banking and Finance (CAIIB) and holds Diploma in Business Management (DBM). He is married to Rosy and has a daughter, Sara.

The portfolios of Deputy Governors are as under:

Dr. K.C. Chakrabarty

- 1. Customer Services Department
- 2. Department of Administration and Personnel Management
- 3. Department of Banking Supervision
- 4. Department of Currency Management
- 5. Financial Stability Unit
- 6. Human Resources Development Department
- 7. Rural Planning and Credit Department
- 8. Secretary's Department
- 9. Co-ordination Work

Dr. Subir Gokarn

- 1. Department of Communication
- 2. Department of Economic Policy and Research
- 3. Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation4. Department of Statistics and Information Management
- 5. Financial Markets Department
- 6. Monetary Policy Department
- 7. Raibhasha Department
- 8. Right to Information (RIA)

Shri Anand Sinha

- 1. Department of Banking Operations and Development
- 2. Department of Expenditure and Budgetary Control
- 3. Department of Information Technology
- 4. Department of Non-Banking Supervision
- 5. Legal Department
- 6. Premises Department
- 7. Urban Banks Department

Shri H.R. Khan

Press Release: 2011-2012/15

- 1. Central Security Cell
- 2. Department of External Investments and Operations
- 3. Department of Government and Bank Accounts
- 4. Department of Payment and Settlement Systems
- 5. Foreign Exchange Department
- 6. Internal Debt Management Department
- 7. Inspection Department