## प्रेस प्रकाशनी PRESS RELEASE



## भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक RESERVE BANK OF INDIA

वेबसाइट : www.rbi.org.in/hindi Website : www.rbi.org.in ई-मेल/email : helpdoc@rbi.org.in



संचार विभाग, केंद्रीय कार्यालय, शहीद भगत सिंह मार्ग, फोर्ट, मुंबई-400001

Department of Communication, Central Office, Shahid Bhagat Singh Marg, Fort,

Mumbai-400001 फोन/Phone: 022- 22660502

December 01, 2023

## Withdrawal of ₹2000 Denomination Banknotes - Status

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) had announced the withdrawal of ₹2000 denomination banknotes from circulation vide Press Release 2023-2024/257 dated May 19, 2023. The status of withdrawal of ₹2000 banknotes has been periodically published by the RBI.

- 2. The facility for deposit and / or exchange of the ₹2000 banknotes was available at all bank branches in the country initially upto September 30, 2023, which was later extended upto October 07, 2023.
- 3. The facility for exchange of the ₹2000 banknotes was also available at the 19 Issue Offices of the Reserve Bank (RBI Issue Offices)¹ from May 19, 2023. From October 09, 2023, RBI Issue Offices, in addition to exchanging ₹2000 denomination banknotes across the counters, are also accepting ₹2000 banknotes from individuals / entities for deposit to their bank accounts. Further, members of the public from within the country can send ₹2000 banknotes through India Post from any post office in the country, to any of the RBI Issue Offices for credit to their bank accounts in India.
- 4. The total value of ₹2000 banknotes in circulation, which amounted to ₹3.56 lakh crore as at the close of business on May 19, 2023 when the withdrawal of ₹2000 banknotes was announced, has declined to ₹9,760 crore as at the close of business on November 30, 2023. Thus, 97.26% of the ₹2000 banknotes in circulation as on May 19, 2023, has since been returned.
- 5. The ₹2000 banknotes continue to be legal tender.

(Yogesh Dayal) Chief General Manager

1 4 1 1 5 1

Press Release: 2023-2024/1386

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Belapur, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna and Thiruvananthapuram