प्रेस प्रकाशनी PRESS RELEASE



भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक RESERVE BANK OF INDIA

वेबसाइट : <u>www.rbi.org.in/hindi</u> Website : <u>www.rbi.org.in</u> ई-मेल/email : <u>helpdoc@rbi.org.in</u>

Press Release: 2024-2025/1620





संचार विभाग, केंद्रीय कार्यालय, शहीद भगत सिंह मार्ग, फोर्ट, मुंबई - 400 001

Department of Communication, Central Office, Shahid Bhagat Singh Marg, Fort,

Mumbai - 400 001 फोन/Phone: 022 - 2266 0502

November 30, 2024

RBI@90 51st All India Inter Institutional Table Tennis Tournament at Chandigarh

To mark the 90th year of its service to the nation, Reserve Bank of India, hosted RBI@90 51st All India Inter Institutional Table Tennis Tournament at Chandigarh from November 24-29, 2024. The tournament was organised in collaboration with Table Tennis Federation of India. Tournament was played across 7 formats: Men's Singles, Women's Singles, Men's Doubles, Women's Doubles, Mixed Doubles, Men's Team & Women's Team. In the team championship event, teams from 13 prestigious institutions participated comprising: Reserve Bank of India (RBI), Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB), Railways Sports Promotion Board (RSPB), Airports Authority of India (AAI), Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Indian Audit & Accounts Department (IA&AD), Canara Bank, BSNL, Defence Accounts Sports Control Board, Employees State Insurance Corporation (ESIC), Food Corporation of India (FCI), Air Force and Central Revenue Sports Board. In Individual championship, total 330 individual players having experience of playing at International and National level including Olympians participated.

The event commenced with an Opening Ceremony on November 23, 2024 with introduction of the teams and unveiling of trophy. Team Championship finals of the tournament were played on November 26, 2024. In Men's team championship, Railways Sports Promotion Board emerged as the winner by defeating Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (3-1). In women's team championship, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board emerged as the winner defeating Railways Sports Promotion Board (3-1).

The individual championship events were open to all players including non-institutional players. The final matches for individual championship were played on November 29, 2024. The results of final matches are as follows:

- Men's Singles: G. Sathiyan (PSPB) defeated Manav Thakkar (PSPB) 4-3,
- Women's Singles: Swastika Ghosh (AAI) defeated Sreeja Akula (RBI) 4-2,
- Men's Doubles: Akash Pal/Ronit Bhanja (RSPB) defeated Soumyajit Ghosh/Sanil Shetty (PSPB) 3-2,
- Women's Doubles: Jennifer Varghese/Taneesha Kotecha (Maharashtra) defeated Swastika Ghosh/Oishiki Joardar(AAI) 3-0,
- Mixed Doubles: Diya Chitale/Manush Shah (RBI) defeated Yashaswini Ghorpade/Harmeet Desai (PSPB)
 3-1.

Shri T. Rabi Sankar, Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India gave the prizes to winners in a glittering closing ceremony held in the evening of November 29, 2024. Major matches of the tournament were streamed live on the Reserve Bank of India's YouTube channel.

(Puneet Pancholy)
Chief General Manager