प्रेस प्रकाशनी PRESS RELEASE



भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक RESERVE BANK OF INDIA

वेबसाइट : <u>www.rbi.org.in/hindi</u> Website : <u>www.rbi.org.in</u> ई-मेल/email : helpdoc@rbi.org.in

Press Release: 2024-2025/2115





संचार विभाग, केंद्रीय कार्यालय, शहीद भगत सिंह मार्ग, फोर्ट, मुंबई - 400 001

Department of Communication, Central Office, Shahid Bhagat Singh Marg, Fort,

Mumbai - 400 001 फोन/Phone: 022 - 2266 0502

February 08, 2025

Finance Minister addresses the Central Board of Directors of Reserve Bank of India

The 613th meeting of the Central Board of Directors of the Reserve Bank of India was held today at New Delhi under the Chairmanship of Shri Sanjay Malhotra, Governor. The Board reviewed the global and domestic economic situation and outlook, including the challenges posed by geopolitical developments and global financial market volatility. The Board also passed a condolence resolution in memory of Dr. Manmohan Singh, former Prime Minister, former Union Finance Minister and former Governor of the Bank.

Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Hon'ble Union Minister of Finance and Corporate Affairs, addressed and interacted with the Directors of the Central Board, after the Board meeting. The Hon'ble Finance Minister in her address outlined the vision of the Union Budget 2025-26, its key focus areas and the expectations from the financial sector. The Finance Minister also underscored Budget's commitment to prudent fiscal management and policies designed to foster growth, with the overarching goal of achieving 'Viksit Bharat'. The Directors commended the Finance Minister on the Budget and shared their insights.

The Union Finance Minister was accompanied by Shri Pankaj Chaudhary, Hon'ble Minister of State for Finance; Shri Tuhin Kanta Pandey, Finance Secretary and Secretary, Department of Revenue; Dr. Manoj Govil, Secretary, Department of Expenditure; Dr. Arunish Chawla, Secretary, Department of Investment and Public Asset Management; and Dr. V. Anantha Nageswaran, Chief Economic Advisor.

Deputy Governors Shri M. Rajeshwar Rao, Shri T. Rabi Sankar, Shri Swaminathan J. and other Directors of the Central Board – Shri Satish K. Marathe, Shri S. Gurumurthy, Smt. Revathy Iyer, Prof. Sachin Chaturvedi, Shri Venu Srinivasan, Shri Pankaj Ramanbhai Patel and Dr. Ravindra H. Dholakia – attended the meeting. Shri Ajay Seth, Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs, and Shri Nagaraju Maddirala, Secretary, Department of Financial Services, also attended the meeting.

(Puneet Pancholy)
Chief General Manager