

March 16, 2016

RBI to issue of ₹10 banknotes with inset letter 'C'

The Reserve Bank of India will shortly issue ₹10 denomination banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005, with inset letter 'C' in both the number panels, bearing the signature of Dr. Raghuram G. Rajan, Governor, Reserve Bank of India. The year of printing '2016' appears on the reverse of the banknote.

The design of these banknotes to be issued now is similar in all respects to the ₹ 10 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 issued earlier.

All the banknotes in the denomination of \mathbf{E} 10 issued by the Bank in the past will continue to be legal tender.

Press Release: 2015-2016/2179

Ajit Prasad Assistant Adviser