## प्रेस प्रकाशनी PRESS RELEASE



## भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक RESERVE BANK OF INDIA

वेबसाइट : <u>www.rbi.org.in/hindi</u> Website : <u>www.rbi.org.in</u> ई-मेल/email : <u>helpdoc@rbi.org.in</u>





संचार विभाग, केंद्रीय कार्यालय, शहीद भगत सिंह मार्ग, फोर्ट, मुंबई - 400 001

Department of Communication, Central Office, Shahid Bhagat Singh Marg, Fort,

Mumbai - 400 001 फोन/Phone: 022 - 2266 0502

May 02, 2024

## Withdrawal of ₹2000 Denomination Banknotes - Status

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) had announced the withdrawal of ₹2000 denomination banknotes from circulation vide Press Release 2023-2024/257 dated May 19, 2023. The status of withdrawal of ₹2000 banknotes is periodically published by the RBI. The last press release in this regard was published on April 01, 2024.

- 2. The facility for deposit and / or exchange of the ₹2000 banknotes was available at all bank branches in the country upto October 07, 2023.
- 3. The facility for exchange of the ₹2000 banknotes is available at the 19 Issue Offices of the Reserve Bank (RBI Issue Offices)¹ since May 19, 2023. From October 09, 2023, RBI Issue Offices are also accepting ₹2000 banknotes from individuals / entities for deposit into their bank accounts. Further, members of the public are sending ₹2000 banknotes through India Post from any post office within the country, to any of the RBI Issue Offices for credit to their bank accounts.
- 4. The total value of ₹2000 banknotes in circulation, which was ₹3.56 lakh crore at the close of business on May 19, 2023, when the withdrawal of ₹2000 banknotes was announced, has declined to ₹7961 crore at the close of business on April 30, 2024. Thus, 97.76% of the ₹2000 banknotes in circulation as on May 19, 2023, has since been returned.
- 5. The ₹2000 banknotes continue to be legal tender.

Press Release: 2024-2025/235

(Yogesh Dayal) Chief General Manager

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Belapur, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna and Thiruvananthapuram