

April 13, 2016

RBI to issue of ₹10 banknotes with inset letter 'L'

The Reserve Bank of India will shortly issue ₹ 10 denomination banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005, with the inset letter 'L', bearing the signature of Dr. Raghuram G.Rajan, Governor, Reserve Bank of India, and the year of printing '2016' printed on the reverse of the banknote.

The design of these banknotes to be issued now is similar in all respects to the ₹ 10 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series- 2005 issued earlier, except that the numerals in both the number panels will be in the ascending size from left to right while the first three alpha-numeric characters (prefix) will remain constant in size as revealed by the image of the note below-



Such banknotes with ascending size of numerals in the number panels have already been issued in ₹ 50, ₹ 100, ₹ 500, and ₹1000 denominations

All the banknotes in the denomination of \mathbf{E} 10 issued by the Bank in the past will continue to be legal tender.

Press Release : 2015-2016/2413

Ajit Prasad Assistant Adviser